How to setup a headless rpi

I came across this link http://penguintutor.com/linux/raspberrypi-headless and followed the advise of trying to find out the dhcp address.

I connected the rpi via an ethernet cable to my wireless router and booted the rpi.

Then using ipconfig  gives the Default Gateway of my wireless router, x.x.x.1.  Then I noticed the IP address of my laptop, from which I run Putty: it is under IP Address: x.x.x.4.  Since I connected the ethernet cable for the rpi next to the cable of the laptop, to the right, I tried x.x.x.5 and it worked!

Leave a Reply

